3 Words for 2014

I joined the “3 Words” club in 2012, with this New Years Day post, followed a few months later by an update. I loved the idea of starting the year with a few words, a mantra of sorts, that would inspire and motivate me. I’m not sure what happened in 2013 – I think I was still stuck on Resilience, Rejuvenation, and Serenity.

Those words are still important, but I’m ready to move forward. At the end of 2013,  I had the luxury of taking two weeks off over the holidays. Since I have not had a real vacation since 2004, this was much needed. I stayed put (easy to do – the temperature was close to 80 the whole time!) and I was able to clear my head, think and just BE. And (predictably), the ideas have been flowing. Many of the ideas are related to work, but delightfully, just as many are about ME. I will be returning to the office next week with some rejuvenation and serenity along for the ride. They will be welcome companions as I anticipate some challenges as well as some opportunities this year.

So here are my 3 words for 2014. This year, I’ve omitted the official definitions that I previously included, preferring to focus on what these words mean to me:

Grow – I have been pleasantly surprised how this past 2 weeks have allowed me to open my mind and release a side of myself, a creative side, that has been hidden for many years. I plan to nurture this new-found friend, and allow it to flourish and thrive. And of course, I plan to grow more delicious vegetables in my garden…

Grace – I know that I am in for some changes this year, both personally and professionally. Too often we have our heads set on a particular path that we think is the right one. But then life happens. If there’s anything I’ve learned over the past few years, it is that just because I want to be on a certain path, that doesn’t mean it’s the right one for me. I will work on being open to the opportunities that are in front of me, instead of stubbornly trying to push down the same road. I will work on being more open to change.  And I will try to have the faith that I will be in a good place, even if that place is not what I originally envisioned. I hope to exhibit and to truly feel grace under pressure.

Gratitude – I have so much to be thankful for, and will continue to express my gratitude, in my words and in my heart. Family, friends, colleagues, patients – there are so many wonderful, supportive people in my life. My circle continues to grow through on-line interactions. Taking the time to express the thanks that I feel is an essential component of growth, and of grace.

Hopefully all of this will lead to more serenity (still stuck in 2012…). And as I said previously, I do reserve the right to come up with more words, switch words, or develop another plan completely, but for now, this seems to be a good way to start the year. Happy New Year, everyone!

17 thoughts on “3 Words for 2014

  1. Hi! I love this idea and will most
    likely copy your 3 words
    For 2014 – I feel they suit me as well.

    Cheers!

    Cristina

  2. dear dr. Attai,

    thank you for sharing your three little words, along with what they mean to you to help move you onto the path you want to walk. i deliberated for nearly a year on which words i would choose; turns out there were lots of reasons – life’s inclination to happen just when we were making “plans” reasons. i suddenly became a widow early last May, and was diagnosed with a new cancer 8 weeks after Hugh’s death, then was plunged into the awful mix of grief and grueling treatment – lost and wandering through a world of hurt. now that i finally found my three words – Resilience, Grace, and Reinvention i feel such renewal of hope – i love those words! they feel perfect for me.

    i wish you everything your are hoping for in the new year. and i thank you for all that you do to help us, we who dwell in what is sometimes a strange but still beautiful world.

    much love and light to you,

    Karen, TC

  3. Deanna,

    I love your choices as much I enjoy working with you. You are one in a million.

    I may need to be completely irreverent for 2014. The words that come to mind? Kick cancer ass.

  4. Hi Deanna, Your words are terrific, as are you! And guess what? One of them I chose as well! You’ll have to read my post later to find out which one… Well, first I have to finish writing it! Wishing you all the best in 2014. Thank you for all you do for #BCSM and for so many others as well. Like Jody said, you’re one in a million!

    • Thank you Nancy! The nice thing about 3 Words – the words are there for all of us to share, and to interpret in a way that works for the individual. Looking forward to your post!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Round Up | Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer

  6. Deanna, I LOVE this post and your three words. I almost chose Grace as one of mine and probably will at some time or another. You are so right about wanting to be on a path, but knowing that sometimes that path isn’t right for us.

  7. Pingback: Spring! | drattai

  8. Pingback: Thoughts for the New Year | drattai

  9. Pingback: 2015 – The Year of the Garden | drattai

Leave a Reply

